Products That Contain Gluten

Unusual gluten containing products to avoid

Whether you’re experiencing gluten intolerance symptoms, celiac disease or you simply want to life a gluten-free lifestyle for optimism health reasons (per your doctor’s orders), these gluten containing products should be avoided.  You’ll notice at the end of the list, that food manufacturers use ingredients that are often “code words” for gluten.  This list is intended to help you sharpen your “radar” when shopping for healthy gluten-free alternative.  Instead, we want you to concentrate on what we call real foods….you know…the foods that grow ON a plant, not made IN a plant!  🙂

The following grains and starches contain gluten:

  • Wheat
  • Wheat germ
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Bulgur
  • Couscous
  • Farina
  • Graham flour
  • Kamut Matzo
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Triticale

The following foods often contain gluten:

  • malt/malt flavoring
  • soups
  • commercial bullion and broths
  • cold cuts
  • French fries (often dusted with flour before freezing)
  • processed cheese (e.g., Velveeta)
  • mayonnaise
  • ketchup
  • malt vinegar
  • soy sauce and teriyaki sauces
  • salad dressings
  • imitation crab meat, bacon, etc
  • egg substitute
  • tabbouleh
  • sausage
  • non-dairy creamer
  • fried vegetables/tempura
  • gravy
  • marinades
  • canned baked beans
  • cereals
  • commercially prepared chocolate milk
  • breaded foods
  • fruit fillings and puddings
  • hot dogs
  • ice cream
  • root beer
  • energy bars
  • trail mix
  • syrups
  • seitan
  • wheatgrass
  • instant hot drinks
  • flavored coffees and teas blue cheeses
  • vodka
  • wine coolers
  • meatballs, meatloaf communion wafers
  • veggie burgers
  • roasted nuts
  • beer
  • oats (unless certified GF)
  • oat bran (unless certified GF)

The following are miscellaneous sources of gluten:

  • shampoos
  • cosmetics
  • lipsticks, lip balm
  • Play-Doh
  • medications
  • non self-adhesive stamps
  • non self-adhesive envelopes
  • vitamins and supplements (check label)

The following ingredients are often code for gluten:

  • Avena sativa Cyclodextrin
  • Dextrin
  • Fermented grain extract
  • Hordeum distichon
  • Hordeum vulgare
  • Hydrolysate
  • Hydrolyzed malt extract
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • Maltodextrin
  • Phytosphingosine extract
  • Samino peptide complex
  • Secale cereale
  • Triticum aestivum
  • Triticum vulgare
  • Tocopherol/vitamin E
  • Yeast extract
  • Natural flavoring
  • Brown rice syrup
  • Modified food starch
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP)
  • Hydrolyzed soy protein
  • Caramel color (frequently made from barley)

© Dr. David Perlmutter | used with permission

There are so many great wheat- and gluten-free foods to choose from. These foods are sure to help maintain or improve brain health and increased brain function.  If you need help avoiding food from this list or help on your gluten- and wheat-free journey, we’re here to help.  Contact us today!

——————–

Cathy lives in Roanoke, Virginia and specializes in supporting families who desire to change their relationship with health–the way they eat, feel and live.  She is a certified Health Coach & Educator with a strong passion for supporting each client in their journey to feeling stronger, healthier, and more energetic.  Cathy presents workshops online and locally and regularly talks about real food, fitness, natural living, and all things ADHD.  

Cathy is the creator of the Holistic Wellness Academy, an online training platform that will soon provide other wellness advocates a place to share their expertise with their clients so they too can learn how to eat smart, move more, feel better and live longer.

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *